Search
Walnut Hill School for the Arts

Online Program

Walnut Hill Online


Walnut Hill Online students will participate from home and take all of their arts and academics classes in a specifically designed online program. 

Our faculty are working to make the online experience as engaging and enriching as possible. The rapid switch to online learning this spring left little time for faculty to redesign their courses for an online format, and the priority was ensuring that students could finish out the academic year. In preparation for next year, faculty are required to participate in significant professional development training  in order to optimize their course offerings for online delivery. We are also looking at ways to better replicate other features of in-person teaching, such as small group interactions, academic support, and peer-to-peer learning. 

For Walnut Hill Online, we are committed to providing the same level of attention and care as we do in person. Hence, it is important to us to balance the amount of screen time we are expecting our students to engage in and have carefully balanced the curriculum to provide an engaging catalogue of vibrant classes, with extensive one-on-one time. Students will experience a more consistent schedule with a balanced combination of synchronous and asynchronous class time.   

Walnut Hill Online Schedule

Quarter 1 quarter 2 quarter 3 quarter 4
Aug. 24–
Oct. 21, 2020
Nov. 2–
Jan. 27, 2021
Feb. 8–
Apr. 2, 2021
Apr. 14–
Jun. 18, 2021
Online:
All Majors
Online:
All Majors
Online:
All Majors
Online:
All Majors

 

Contacts

If you have questions that aren't addressed by this website, we welcome you to reach out.

Health & Safety
Beth Minnucci, School Nurse
bminnucci@walnuthillarts.org

Residential Life
Melissa Cassel,
Dean of Students 
mcassel@walnuthillarts.org

Susanne Carpenter
Assistant Head of School
scarpenter@walnuthillarts.org

Admission
Karen Loder,
Director of Admission & Financial Aid
kloder@walnuthillarts.org

Academics
Ben Gregg,
Director of Academic Studies
bgregg@walnuthillarts.org

Arts
Niki Conraths,
Director of Artistic Studies
nconraths@walnuthillarts.org

External Resources

Dial 211
Massachusetts 24/7 information about COVID-19 in 150 languages

CDC Travel Information
CDC Information on Coronavirus
World Health Organization, Coronavirus